top of page

Acerca de

Journey - Escape

Released in 1981, "Escape" is the seventh studio album by the rock band Journey. The album was a commercial breakthrough for the band, reaching the number one spot on the Billboard 200 chart and producing several hit singles, including "Don't Stop Believin'" and "Who's Crying Now." With the departure of Gregg Rolie, "Escape" marked a turning point in Journey's career, moving away from their progressive rock roots and embraced a more radio-friendly sound.

The album features strong performances from the band's members, including Steve Perry's powerful vocals, Neal Schon's virtuosic guitar work, and Jonathan Cain's (who replace Rolie) lush keyboard arrangements. The songs on "Escape" are characterized by their infectious hooks, soaring choruses, and upbeat, upbeat energy, making them perfect for rock radio and live performances. Lyrically, the songs deal with themes of love, hope, and perseverance, resonating with audiences and making "Escape" one of Journey's most beloved albums.

To this day, "Escape" remains a classic of the rock genre and a staple of Journey's discography. Its impact on the sound of popular music is undeniable, and its songs continue to be beloved by fans and rock enthusiasts alike. Whether you're a long-time Journey fan or discovering the band for the first time, "Escape" is an album that deserves a place in your music collection.

In this video Robert John Hadfield, shares insights and thoughts about this vinyl album. The video is shot in 4K so you can see detail in the packaging.

bottom of page